Ten Lessons I’ve Learned as a Small Business Owner

I’ve recently been interviewed by a local business newspaper about lessons I’ve learned since owning my own business. I’m not sure what will be captured by the reporter, so I thought I’d share them in my blog. If you know a small business owner, hug them.

(1) Life is a lot different when time and money is your own to spend how you see fit. Suddenly I’ve been able to prioritize much more effectively with both time and money.

(2) I’ve never worked so hard in my life yet I’ve never been more confident that I’m doing the right thing.

(3) People who have no courage cannot encourage you. Don’t look for support from everyone; not everyone has it to give.

(4) The work I do can only be done by me. If I don’t do it, no one else will. This isn’t to say that some things cannot or should not be delegated but, rather, supports my philosophy that everyone has a unique and valuable purpose and that purpose has a role in each person’s financial life. Use your gifts.

(5) It’s nice to be my own boss because I can decide to wear sandals with my business suit if I want. Or go to the beach on a beautiful day. Or work for sixteen hours on something that may or may not be profitable.

(6) It’s good to be authentic.

(7) Not everyone gives a crap.

(8) Most people are listening to the same station WIFM (What’s In It For ME?).

(9) Some people will see what you’re doing and be mad at you (but really at themselves) because they didn’t do it, and you can’t control that.

(10) You need to walk your own path. Some folks may walk with you for a while but they must walk their own path, too. Respect that fact.

About Amy Jo Lauber

I help people who are overwhelmed take control & make good financial decisions with confidence and experience peace and abundance. Are you ready to say goodbye to working hard but not having anything to show for it? Go to www.lauberfinancialplanning.com "Let's Talk" tab to schedule your complimentary initial consultation and take the first step on the path to financial empowerment.
This entry was posted in Personal Finance with a twist. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ten Lessons I’ve Learned as a Small Business Owner

  1. Cherie says:

    Fabulous, wonderful, inspirational post!

Leave a Reply

