What Is Social Media Doing to Relationships?

I know, you wouldn’t have even FOUND this post if it weren’t for social media. I get it. It’s been pounded into my head how social media is THE answer to business in the 21st century. I’m not saying the gurus are wrong (how can they be? They’re GURUS.) but I wonder if they’re right (there’s a difference).

My business (like most) is solely based on relationships. And, being human and humble enough to know my frailties, I know I can realistically tend to only so many relationships. I doubt a tweet (or lack thereof) will make (or break) my business or a client relationship. Staying in touch is crucial for all relationships but if I put a tweet out for the whole world (aren’t I ambitious?) to see, how is that valuable to my relationship with my Job Seeker Joe client?

I read an industry newsletter called “Inside Information” by Bob Veres. I adore this guy’s work. I’d like to say I read it regularly and on time but…let’s just say I read it when I get a minute to do so.
Uh oh…I think I have found the catch 22 about social media. We all have exactly one minute to do any given thing in life these days and that’s as much time as we have to spend reading a particular insight, even from a guru. I read in one of Bob’s columns that he is having trouble tweeting because of the limited numbers (140) of characters that can be used in a tweet and that he “has trouble clearing his throat in less than two paragraphs”. Hilarious!

I do like the challenge of trying to get my message condensed down into 140 characters but it leaves no room for context, tone or consideration. These three components make up conversation in meaningful relationships. So, if we are only conveying tidbits of information, because that is the platform’s limits as well as the modern humans’ capacity for information, what does that mean for the depth of our relationships? Don’t we all long for someone else to “get” us? to understand where we’re coming from and why? To be loved and accepted as we are; flawed, hopeful and striving? How can that depth be reached via reading the person’s Facebook page?

Yes, I’ve heard that you can learn a lot more about people using social media (I read that my client was enjoying her time in London with her kids) but does that nugget a relationship make? Shouldn’t I have already known she was going to London with her kids? Hmph, only if I saw it on Facebook because she -like I- has a limited amount of time to disperse information to those in her life.

I hear over and over again (and heard again this morning on a “transformational author” call) that I MUST maximize my followers in order to be successful. I don’t know about that. I may expand my reach and advertising, but that may not translate into more meaningful relationships or more clients. It might. But gathering followers seems almost cultish to me. How can I get all kinds of people to “like” me? Why do all of these people “like” me? They can’t all possibly like me….maybe they’re all just following the gurus’ advice and “liking” so that they can be “liked”. Things that make you go “hmmmmmm”.

Let me say that I have a friend (Robin Wilson) who is a social media guru and she is very smart about this form of communication and what it can do for your business. She has many stories to tell of how it worked. I’m not saying that it’s NOT a viable option, I’m just wondering about its larger affect on life…that’s what I do. Some people play golf or work a crossword puzzle; I wonder about social media’s affect on life. (I wonder if I should post that on Facebook.)

If you want to develop a mutually valuable relationship with someone who will guide you through the personal finance minefield, I invite you to email me and let’s have a cup of coffee/tea (I’ll find out what you like when we meet, in person). But, in the meantime, will you “like” me on Facebook?

About Amy Jo Lauber

I help people who are overwhelmed take control & make good financial decisions with confidence and experience peace and abundance. Are you ready to say goodbye to working hard but not having anything to show for it? Go to www.lauberfinancialplanning.com "Let's Talk" tab to schedule your complimentary initial consultation and take the first step on the path to financial empowerment.
This entry was posted in Money in relationships, Personal Finance with a twist. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What Is Social Media Doing to Relationships?

  1. I have to tell you, I’ve made some great, real friends on Twitter. It starts out very superficial, but can get much deeper with multiple Direct Message conversations to really get to know each other. I have even met many in person, after we’ve become friends online. Several local Twitter friends have come to see me at art shows, and I’ve visited my best online friend in NYC. The key is to be yourself and follow interesting people, then talk to them. Trust Robin & I – it’s worth it.
    Anne Bliss, Twitter: @BlissDesigns

Leave a Reply

