Are you ready to achieve your goals?

It is perfectly okay for you to answer “No” to this question, I did.

Most business consultants warn that start-ups usually take 2-3 years to be profitable. I’m rounding the magical two-year mark with my business and have joked with a few people that I think I can finally call it a business (meaning: I am generating enough work to maybe… possibly… probably take a paycheck). Yet, I’m afraid to take the money out. What’s going on?

At the same time, I’ve launched my first book (Living Inspired and Financially Empowered; you can get it on my website and, soon, through Amazon) and have been getting $12 here and $12 there, most of which gets spent on either Mighty Taco or fancy coffee drinks (okay, okay, and rum for mojitos… and wine). How quickly those twelve bucks get spent, and joyously, too, I might add.

I’ve savored every dollar spent as a result of my work. I tell you, when you’ve been working 40, 50, 60 hours a week for two years without any income to show for it (all I’ve made has been put back into the business thus far), it makes you realize just how delightful payment can be, no matter how small it is.

And the business account beckons to me.

I’ve dreamt of this point and of how I’d like to use the money. Of course I should take my own advice and fund my IRA, but what I really think we need as a family is a trip to Disney World. Nothing like a whole lot of fantasy after a large dose of reality. But then again, I don’t know if we’re ready to hemorrhage $20 bills, either, and that’s easily done at Disney World.

Yet, I’m afraid to take the money out, maybe for fear the pipeline will dry up and I’ll be back where I was, using our savings to fund my fledgling dream (note: there’s an emergency fund and an opportunity fund just for these reasons. Be sure to fund yours!). I can already feel the eyes of my friend Nancy Rizzo, the life coach, upon me, warning me of the scarcity mindset. I know, I know…

Be gentle with yourself when it comes to achieving your goals. You’re the only one who creates them, and only you can know when you’re ready to achieve them …and why.

About Amy Jo Lauber

I help people who are overwhelmed take control & make good financial decisions with confidence and experience peace and abundance. Are you ready to say goodbye to working hard but not having anything to show for it? Go to www.lauberfinancialplanning.com "Let's Talk" tab to schedule your complimentary initial consultation and take the first step on the path to financial empowerment.
This entry was posted in Personal Finance with a twist, Psychology of Money. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Are you ready to achieve your goals?

  1. Ed Draves says:

    The most successful business person I know vacations ( his Drs orders) , Remember Coveys 7th habit? You have 2 priceless intangible assets – your reputation and your integrity, neither of which is going anywhere- don’t be afraid to reward yourself with some of the tangible ones,

Leave a Reply

