A “Get Rich Really, Really Slowly” Scheme

No takers, huh?
It’s interesting, people know (at least, I hope they know) that get rich quick schemes are usually unreasonable, unethical and downright scams. Yet many fall for them, probably for the same reasons people buy diet pills: The actor in the commercial claimed their excess weight “magically fell off”. As if.

I’m endlessly curious about how and what people think about money…and financial planners.
A former co-worker of mine had a friend in the business (in his early 30s) who had an amazingly large home, shiny new car, expensive watch etc. He claimed the need to showcase his financial success to potential clients because, how could he make them rich if he wasn’t? Well, he subsequently lost his investment license and went bankrupt.

But the fact is, people definitely look for clues to a financial advisor’s financial situation…but maybe they’re looking for more than obvious success.
I recently had a prospect sign on as a client because (get this) he noticed my car, a 2003 Impala (hardly a trophy) in the parking lot and respected that I practiced what I preach: Patient, conscious financial decisions made over time and many times.

UGH, but the TIME! As Hootie and the Blowfish sing, “Time, why you punish me?” and as Henry Van Dyke wrote, “Time is too slow for those who wait…”(did you ever notice that an hourglass image depicts time more effectually than a clock?)

I ponder these issues far too much I guess. We are hard-wired for results and if those results are not immediate, we think that they’re not coming and become discouraged or depressed. I think this is probably why my clients, who are typically strong in their chosen spiritual path/belief system, work so well with me: They are accustomed to waiting and to having faith. They can apply this same belief (that a positive result will come if one stays in faith and acts with integrity) to their financial decisions. But this takes time, sometimes a long time.

Even people who work with Rhonda Byrnes “The Secret” or the law of attraction may experience frustration that they’re not getting the results they desire immediately. Why does it have to be right now to be a good result? Hmmm…

Whenever I read about financial success, the majority of the content has to do with being a business owner. Consider this quote from Jim Rohn, “Formal education will make you a living; self-education will make you a fortune.” I must say that owning a business provides one with a significant education! And truthfully, every business consultant I met told me it’d take a few years to see any form of profit from my business (or any business). I was mentally prepared for this wait but I wasn’t emotionally prepared for it. There’s a lot of ego wrapped up in our financial situation and results, afterall. I’m happy to say that after two years I am, indeed, profitable. But it was a long two years.

You can achieve financial security and freedom, but it’s important to make peace with yourself while you wait or, more importantly, right now while you live. It is the inner peace that will guide you to make good decisions and foster a sense of contentment.

About Amy Jo Lauber

I help people who are overwhelmed take control & make good financial decisions with confidence and experience peace and abundance. Are you ready to say goodbye to working hard but not having anything to show for it? Go to www.lauberfinancialplanning.com "Let's Talk" tab to schedule your complimentary initial consultation and take the first step on the path to financial empowerment.
This entry was posted in Personal Finance with a twist, Psychology of Money. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A “Get Rich Really, Really Slowly” Scheme

  1. Mari McNeil says:

    Great article, Amy! We are indeed accustomed to expect immediate success, thus the popularity of lottery tickets. In an age of amazon.com one-click buying, it’s just too easy to spend money fast. Much harder to make it and build it. Keep doing your wonderful work!

  2. Sarah Haykel says:

    Thank you Amy Jo for posting! I am recently coming back to the idea I learned in the book “Creating Money,” by Sanaya Roman and Duan Packer that everything I want from money: security, freedom, safety, fun, joy, expression, I can have RIGHT NOW! I just need to notice these things in my life in this moment and more of that will come to me, through income and through other sources of currency! So enlightening. I hear this in the last paragraph of your blog. I am IN!

  3. Dennis Skomra says:

    You are a Godsend, just so you know. Great article, smart author, but even more so, a talented, caring, devoted and spiritually guided blogger who is on the cusp of helping her fellowman in an endeavor to live life with a steadfast approach to dealing with money which is also a gift and burden if we don’t understand the importance of it and how is should be looked at and handled.

Leave a Reply

