If you like Consumer Reports so much, why don’t you MARRY it?

I’m looking to buy a car, soon. This is a long story that I will attempt to make short for the sake of my devoted blog subscribers (including my husband).

You see, I really never cared much about what I drove. This apathetic approach, combined with (at the time, ten years ago) severe sleep deprivation as a result of being a new mom to a delightfully beautiful yet colicky baby, resulted in my husband choosing the car I would drive for ten years.

I don’t hate it.
I don’t love it, either.

At the time it was a darling of Consumer Reports, my husband’s bible.
This is where I attempt to make my story brief.

You see, my husband, a prudent and caring man, feels it’s his duty to scour Consumer Reports prior to making any purchase. I suspect many people rely on this wonderful publication to guide them as well. I think, perhaps, we need objective advice on which to base our decisions about parting with our hard-earned money, maybe because we don’t trust our own opinions or because many companies produce crappy stuff and we don’t want to look foolish…or waste money. It gives us permission to spend our money on certain items because they’re “worth” it.

So why am I picking on it?
Well, because I like a car (a lot) that is “pretty good” in Consumer Reports’ eyes but not necessarily recommended. This is where things get interesting. You see, I’m up against Consumer Reports in this deal, which is a tough opponent as my husband’s star player. My star player is my opinion about what I like. But what does Consumer Reports know about what I like?! It’s a weird debate.

You may think that because I’m a financial planner specializing in helping people make good financial decisions that I do not succumb to the flight of fancy, but you’d be wrong. I have a background in art and fashion and have kept my aesthetic in limbo regarding cars far too long… and it’s rearing its head right now. Commence hissy fit.

Back to Consumer Reports…I think my hubby simply cannot understand why I could want a car that’s not the best possible option, and this is why I think most couples argue about money: it’s not about the money, it’s about our individual opinions not matching up about what is the best possible option. It’s about values.

Unless the dealership hires a marriage therapist, I think we’re going to have to work this out on our own. Stay tuned. Beep beep!

About Amy Jo Lauber

I help people who are overwhelmed take control & make good financial decisions with confidence and experience peace and abundance. Are you ready to say goodbye to working hard but not having anything to show for it? Go to www.lauberfinancialplanning.com "Let's Talk" tab to schedule your complimentary initial consultation and take the first step on the path to financial empowerment.
This entry was posted in Money in relationships, Personal Finance with a twist. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

