Fighting Discouragement

I’m having trouble getting my book into the hands of those people who would benefit from reading it. As a small, unknown author, it’s hard to convince book stores and distributors that they’d be making a wise investment by offering my book to their clients.

It’s easy to get discouraged and believe that my success is, somehow, in the hands of the people who run the book stores and distribution companies who keep rejecting me.
This is a lie, however, and I’m glad I recognized it as such. Let me explain.

I could choose to believe that my book must be sold in a large national book store (or online international book “stores”) in order for it to be successful.

I could choose to believe that Oprah Winfrey must endorse it in order for it to be successful.

I could choose to believe that I must have 150,000 followers on Twitter in order for it to be successful.

OR I could choose to believe that it already is a success and then choose to welcome the means that are best to get it in the hands of those who need it.

I choose the latter, and you can, too.
What area of your life confounds you, leaving you feeling discouraged? The sound of the wind coming out of your sails whispering, “You can’t do this,” “You’re never going to be able to afford that,” “This never works out for you.”
I invite you to choose differently.
I give you permission to choose differently.
I invite you to tell the naysayers to go chase a cat.
cat staring

When wisdom calls you, choose to listen to that call and trust that your path is true, your constitution is strong, and the future holds endless possibilities.

About Amy Jo Lauber

I help people who are overwhelmed take control & make good financial decisions with confidence and experience peace and abundance. Are you ready to say goodbye to working hard but not having anything to show for it? Go to www.lauberfinancialplanning.com "Let's Talk" tab to schedule your complimentary initial consultation and take the first step on the path to financial empowerment.
This entry was posted in Money & Spirituality, Personal Finance with a twist, Psychology of Money. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Fighting Discouragement

  1. Donna says:

    I like your style AmyJo.

  2. Ahhhhhh!!! That post is by far your BEST!! A perfect expression of YOU! I’d be willing to bet that piece was easy to write…it just flowed…yes? Good for you! 🙂

    • Thanks Christine, you did a great job on “Winging It” this morning, btw.

      It’s so funny, so many coaches tell me I have to write more about myself and I’m like, “Who wants to know more about me? Doesn’t everyone listen to WIFM (What’s In It For Me?)” and yet my most popular posts, seminars, articles etc have featured my struggles or stories (including my TEDx talk when I spoke about my mom’s stroke).

  3. ealetta says:

    Isn’t it funny how your discouragement is my inspiration? I’ve been working on my book about living your best life with chronic illness for, what, four years now? And what discourages me is that occasionally I stop writing because of said chronic illness which is a lot like being on a discouragement tea cup ride. And yet I know I have to write the damn thing. I can’t give it up because I truly believe there is one person out there who needs it. You wrote and published your jewel of a book and you are right, it IS a success. It has touched many more than one person, you can bet on it. So keep getting it to those who need it. You chose well.

  4. Joan Dobrin says:

    I could say, that based on my past few “arts and craft shows’, that my calligraphy products are not something that people are interested in because of the the lack of sales. I choose to believe that I have just not met the people who will LOVE what I create and want to purchase my work because they either want to give it as a gift to someone or that they want me to create something special just for them. : ) It is not easy though when you sit and wait and wait and wait for a sale to happen at a show.

    • I agree, Joan, it is tough, that’s why I used the term “fighting” discouragement. A tactic I use at shows like that is to have some kind of activity to keep my energy up and that is interesting to people. Maybe offer passersby little table cards on which you write their name or the name of a loved one they wished were at the table. Or if a sidewalk sale, use chalk to draw around the area in calligraphy. Just sitting there (not saying you do that) isn’t good for you or business.

      • Joan Dobrin says:

        I usually have bookmarks that have different sayings on them, I let people choose which saying they like, then hand scribe a name for them on the back. It is fun and certainly brings smiles.

  5. nancy rizzo says:

    Wow, good catch there Dear Amy Jo. I was just about to say, “whose hands do you think your success is in?!?” And that’s what low vibrational energy on The Depletion Road gets us – a lie. Ya know that formula, “do the work, align myself, be authentic, Trust = abundance?” The “means” you refer to is the work! (and it never ends!!! LOL) And then we don’t have time to worry or have limiting beliefs! Thanks for sharing your wisdom and yourself.

    • And thank YOU Nancy for being a consistent reminder of what’s good.

    • Joan Dobrin says:

      In my head and in my heart, I truly believe that my work will sell at shows. I wouldn’t be doing them if I did not think this. While at the few craft shows that I have been in, I get wonderful feedback from people about my work and how beautiful it is. The “sales” though do not match the comments on my work at these shows. Most of my business has been and still is from people finding me on the internet. I basically get 99.9% of whomever contacts me about my calligraphy services. It is easy when clients tell you what they want verses you creating something that you think people want. I am used to producing one of a kind work, custom pieces, verses creating work that I think will sell. What a difference! So I will continue to grow and learn in my business.

      • I can see that (pieces selling on request) because your energy is different/focused when you have that request than when you are creating for “maybe”and “what if?”. You do create beautiful work!

  6. Pingback: Manifesting and Budgeting | LIFE: Live Inspired, Financially Empowered

  7. Pingback: Manifesting: An Alternative to the Willpower You Don’t Have | LIFE: Live Inspired, Financially Empowered

Leave a Reply

