Why Being a Financial Planner is Easier Than Being a Mom

Or, why being anything is easier than being a Mom.
When our daughter was 18 months old, I went back to work. I enjoyed (endured) the time home with her until then and felt going back to work was the best option for our family for many reasons. Some were definitely self focused, because I really enjoy my work, and I feel it’s my responsibility to share whatever gifts Providence gave me.

I remember my first full day (at the time I worked one full day and one half day per week). I went to the bathroom when I had to go and didn’t have to worry about anyone sticking their fingers into an electrical socket. I drank coffee – leisurely – as I researched financial strategies and had lengthy discussions with colleagues about behavioral economics. I bought items online during my lunch break which lasted a full hour.

Over the years I somehow survived the day care guilt on those days when family wasn’t available to watch our daughter which – thankfully – were few; I cannot fathom trying to do this without my family. (I blogged about this in a related post “Is Our Financial Lifestyle Unsustainable?” https://amyjolauber.wordpress.com/2013/06/24/is-our-financial-lifestyle-unsustainable/)
I became well known in my field. Clients pay for and follow my advice; they do as they are told. This does not happen with my daughter whose life is an endless adventure to prove every bit of parental guidance ever stated wrong.

I have control issues.
I didn’t realize this until I became a mother.

Of course not. While I’ve been hired to look out for my client’s best (financial) interests, I’ve never had such a need or desire to control the environment of another human being; to protect, teach, inform, inspire, guide.

I’m always telling my clients not to focus on things they cannot control (like the stock market, or other people’s unscrupulous behavior) and instead focus on what they can control (thinking about their goals and dreams, spending their money mindfully, and investing patiently). I suppose I need to write myself a check and take my own advice and apply it to parenting.

There are way too many parts of life that are simply out of our control, and no where is that more evident than when you are a parent.

So bring it on stock market, I’m not afraid of you. I’m a Mom.

About Amy Jo Lauber

I help people who are overwhelmed take control & make good financial decisions with confidence and experience peace and abundance. Are you ready to say goodbye to working hard but not having anything to show for it? Go to www.lauberfinancialplanning.com "Let's Talk" tab to schedule your complimentary initial consultation and take the first step on the path to financial empowerment.
This entry was posted in Money in relationships, Personal Finance with a twist. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Why Being a Financial Planner is Easier Than Being a Mom

  1. John Armesto says:

    That puts it in perspective.

  2. nancy rizzo says:

    Any one of us Moms could have written this exactly Dear “spot on” Amy Jo!!! I’ve also worked for “100 years” but being a Mom is both the hardest and most wonderful job I’ve ever had – and continues to be (as we continue to share our wisdom with our adult children. oh how nice I just stated that, huh?) We shall continue to be Mother Tigers and everyone and everything else better not dare get in our ways. Stock Market?!? HA! p.s. only you could’ve written this this way – exactly correct with humor. . . 🙂 Blessings

  3. Absolutely agree with Nancy! Btw – I didn’t know I was a control freak until I became a mom either. I thought I was cool and laid back. HA! I love being my former self at work 🙂

  4. Pam Horack says:

    Love these thoughts! I started work after 5 years at home and was glad to start having uninterrupted conversations with adults, a quiet lunch, and the opportunity to help others. Being a mom is great preparation for being a financial planner. It teaches you what is truly important and how to juggle it all.

Leave a Reply

