Getting Rich, $12 At a Time

This is a follow up to my prior post about getting rich really slowly.

So, I’ve written this book, Living Inspired and Financially Empowered: Aligning Our Spiritual And Material Lives, and it sells for $12. (Isn’t it pretty? My sister won a graphic design award for it!)

At any rate, I’m now in the business of selling these lovelies, since I chose to self-publish. It’s interesting, I thought my demographic would be folks on a spiritual path who wanted to learn how to make financial decisions consciously, but after an eight-hour day at a holistic health expo, none had sold (although many people said, “This is what I need.”). I wonder why no one parted with the $12 to purchase what they, admittedly, need. Hmmm…

I have, however, been able to sell quite a few to my colleages in the Financial Planning Association. Huh. Maybe those of us preoccupied with money need a new perspective on it. At just about every meeting I sell three books or more. $36 (plus tax, which is not mine to keep).

Getting paid these little bits at a time, in cash, is very different from the rest of my financial life. Cash spends differently than money that’s be given via a check or direct deposit into a bank or credit union account. It almost feels like found money, you know?     I usually spend it on stuff we need (like these fabulous sunshine gala apples I found at a local food co-op). But it’s been a goal of mine to convert my book to a digital version (ebook) and so, the $12 goes into my book’s savings account. It’s a waiting game, but I also have a target and a goal.

Many people in the book business warned me, “You’re not going to make any money on your book, but you’ll make money because of your book.” Meaning, I’ve gotten more clients and speaking engagements because I am a published author. $12 does not a millionaire make. I get it.

How are you paid and how does it affect your financial behavior?

About Amy Jo Lauber

I help people who are overwhelmed take control & make good financial decisions with confidence and experience peace and abundance. Are you ready to say goodbye to working hard but not having anything to show for it? Go to www.lauberfinancialplanning.com "Let's Talk" tab to schedule your complimentary initial consultation and take the first step on the path to financial empowerment.
This entry was posted in Personal Finance with a twist. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

